Thank you Dad and Twitter

Four years ago, about a year after my father passed away, I used some of the money he left to improve my professional worth. I’m a fundraiser and I have some morbid love for direct marketing, but had no nifty credentials to point to.

The financial legacy he left was enough to make my family a little more comfortable, but I wanted to do something a little more stabilizing for their future than just a new fridge and stove.

My Dad was very big on “bettering” oneself. That’s his word for it.

It was only fitting–and honouring his legacy–to better myself. I took a course offered by the Canadian Marketing Association on Direct Marketing.

In that course, I learned about Facebook and Twitter. Frankly, I thought they would likely be popular, but complete wastes of time.

Fast forward to 2010. I had a barely used account on Twitter. I should add, I had one grudgingly. The charity I was working with needed a social media presence and initially my account was a way of diy learning.

So, it’s the summer of 2010 and I am in BC for work and for healing. I got the Twitter bug bad, along with being bitten by Flickr. First I saw the fun possible with Twitter, then I saw the possibilities to connect with other parents of asd kids.

Once I started looking for other parents, I knew Twitter was going to change how good a parent I could be because I found others who had been there and done that.

Along the way, I’ve had some great conversations with folks. I have a list of folks connected to autism there and I need to stay on top of that more. If you want to take a look, it’s www.twitter.com/gingerheaddad/autismtweeps.

All of this is to express my gratitude for my father planning ahead which allowed me to play with Twitter. Like many asd parents, Twitter has become huge for me.

This connection to Twitter has led to some cool friendships (tweetships?), which in turn is leading to something that is a big deal to me. I am going to have a guest blogger. She is @OMum22 on Twitter and in real life she is a tax consultant. We have developed a tweetship because she is the mother to twin 5 year old boys on the spectrum. Look for her post coming soon on Canadian tax issues and benefits for asd parents.

2 thoughts on “Thank you Dad and Twitter

  1. Jim, so sorry for the loss of your dad. Glad to tweet with you, leading me to your blog. This post caught my eye for reasons I’m sure you understand. You are about the same age as me (21 right?). Wonderful that parents pave our way – and thus, teach us how to pave a way with our own. (Liked the story about swimming with Daniel as well- bit of a sadness to it though.) Hope all is going well for you and you settle in for many more posts. We don’t see too many dads on the block…

    Like

    • Thanks, Karen. I admire my parents for all that they created. The history they lived through included the Depression, World War 2, the Cold War, the expansion of medicare and so many other things. There is much they taught just by their presence. Some of those teachings were important to hold on to and others needed a little revision–or repaving, as you put it. But they worked, paid taxes and left a really remarkable society. I did feel very sad about swimming with Daniel because the twins’ mom has definitely decided to move at the end of the school year and I will no longer see as much of Daniel’s development. His mother did not want to go to swimming and she has always commented that I am the one who pushes for new goals and experiences for the kids. As of July 1st, that will no longer be my role. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

